Loyola University Maryland

Writing Department

Contests & Awards

Academy of American Poets College and University Prize

The Academy of American College Poets Prize is one of the nation's oldest poetry organizations. Many of our nation’s finest poets received this prestigious award early in their literary careers. Among them: Diane Ackerman, Toi Derricotte, Mark Doty, Jorie Graham, Kimiko Hahn, Joy Harjo, Robert Hass, Li-Young Lee, J. D. McClatchy, Robert Pinsky, Sylvia Plath, Mark Strand, Ocean Vuong, and Charles Wright.

The Academy of American Poets Prize is administered yearly by the Writing Department in partnership with Loyola’s Center for the Humanities and the Academy of American Poets. 

2022 Winner

Alli Lijewski

2022 Honorable Mention

Camille Barron


Fiction/Non-Fiction Prose Contest

The Writing Department recognizes the best in student fiction and non-fiction. It awards the student who writes the best essay or the best short story within an upper division (300 or higher) departmental course.

Fiction Winner 2022

Caroline Blank

Non-Fiction Winner 2022

Alex Laubach

2022 Honorable Mentions

Erin Wilson
Kendal Loughborough
Claudia Zuccarelli

Rhetoric Contest

The Writing Department recognizes the best in student rhetorical composition originally produced for 200, 300, or 400- level writing classes at Loyola. There are three categories of submission: analysis, persuasion, and digital/multimodal/visual. 

Analysis Winner 2022

Julia Ayroso  
"Dr. Chaya Bhuvaneswar and the Rhetoric of Intersectional Race and Gender"

Persuasion Winner 2022

Katie Quigley 
"Eliminating Cash Bail: Why the System is Unjust and Easily Replaceable"

Digital/Multimodal/Visual Winner 2022

Katie Quigley
"Fighting for America’s Legally Innocent: An Argument for Bail Reform"



Jennifer Nordmark

Jennifer Nordmark

Meet Jennifer, a 2011 graduate who applies her Loyola education to mentoring high school students interested in film animation

Writing, Political Science