Loyola University Maryland

Department of Theology

Faculty & Staff

Theology Banner

Full-Time Faculty

eklund-rebekah

Rebekah Eklund

Chair of Theology Department
Associate Professor
Th.D., Duke University, 2012

HU 042J 410-617-5003
raeklund@loyola.edu

Research interests: New Testament (Gospels); Ethics; racial justice; feminist/womanist and theological readings of Scripture

Recent publications
Curriculum vitae

 Bauerschmidt Frederick C. Bauerschmidt

Professor
Ph.D., Duke University, 1996

HU 042G 410-617-2042
fbauerschmidt@loyola.edu

Research interests: Medieval and Contemporary Theology; Thomas Aquinas

Recent Publications 
Curriculum vitae
Personal website

 Daniel Castillo

Daniel Castillo

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame 2014

HU 042I 410-617-2587
dpcastillo@loyola.edu

Research interests:Liberation Theology; Ecotheology/Environmental Ethics; Latino/a Theology;Theology and Science

Recent Publications
Curriculum vitae

Conley

The Rev. John J. Conley, S.J.

Henry J. Knott Professor of Theology and Philosophy
Ph.D., Université Catholique de Louvain, 1988

HU 042M 410-617-2665
jconley1@loyola.edu

Research interests: Moral Theology; Philosophy and Theology; French Philosophy

Recent publications 
Curriculum vitae

Fowl

Stephen E. Fowl

Dean of Loyola College
Professor

Ph.D., University of Sheffield, 1987

HU 042F 410-617-2878
sfowl@loyola.edu

Research interests: New Testament (esp. Pauline Studies); Hermeneutics; Theological Interpretation of Scripture

Recent publications 
Curriculum vitae

 Kiess  

John Kiess

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Duke University, 2011

HU 042L 410-617-2811
jrkiess@loyola.edu

Research interests:Moral Theology; Political Theology; Ethics of Armed Conflict and Peacebuilding

Recent publications
Curriculum vitae

   

Brian F. Linnane

President Emeritus Loyola University Maryland
Professor
Ph.D., Yale University, 1990

Research interests: Moral Theology; Health Care Ethics;Virtue Ethics

 

Lloyd Headshot

Stephen J. Lloyd

Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Boston University, 2019

HU 042E
sjlloyd@loyola.edu

Research interests: History of Christianity; World Christianity; Theology, Ethnicity, and Race in South Africa

Recent Publications
Curriculum vitae

Claire Mathews

Claire R. Mathews McGinnis

Professor
Ph.D., Yale University, 1994

HU 042O 410-617-2356
cmathews@loyola.edu

Research interests: Prophets (esp. Isaiah); Exodus; Biblical Narrative; Theological Interpretation

Recent publications 
Curriculum vitae 

Headshot of Nicole Reibe

Nicole Reibe

Director of Program Operations of the Masters of Theological Studies
Ph.D., Boston College, 2015

HU042I   410-617-5138
nlreibe@loyola.edu

Rossi

The Rev. Joseph S. Rossi, S.J.

Professor
Ph.D., Catholic University of America, 1989

HU 042D 410-617-2371
jsrossi@loyola.edu

Research interests: American Catholic Life and Thought; Catholic NGOs at the United Nations; Theology and Cinema (American and International)

Recent publications
Curriculum vitae

Seah

Audrey Seah

Postdoctoral Teaching Fellow
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame, 2021

HU 042B
alseah@loyola.edu

Research interests: Global liturgy and culture; ritual and reconciliation in post-conflict situations; liturgy and politics; worship and disability rights

Smith Headshot

Zachary G. Smith

Lecturer
Ph.D., Yale University, 2019

HU 042G
zgsmith@loyola.edu

Recent Publications
Curriculum vitae

 Jill Snodgrass

Jill Snodgrass

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Claremont School of Theology, 2011


HU 042N   410.617.7612 
jlsnodgrass@loyola.edu

Research interests: Practical/pastoral theology; Spiritual care and counseling with traditionally marginalized populations; Intercultural care and counseling

Recent publications
Curriculum vitae

Arthur Sutherland

Arthur M. Sutherland

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Princeton Theological Seminary, 2000

HU 042N 410-617-2217
asutherland@loyola.edu

Research interests:Systematic Theology; History of Doctrine; Theologies of Hospitality, Patience, and Generosity; African American Religious Thought; Christianity and its Critics; Theology and Autobiography

Recent publications

Zaleski

John Zaleski

Lecturer
Ph.D., Harvard University, 2019

HU 042C
jazaleski@loyola.edu

Research interests: Asceticism; Sufism; Syriac Christianity; Monasticism; Muslim-Christian Interaction; Scriptural Exegesis

Affiliate Faculty

Barczak Headshot

Christopher Barczak

HU 039
cmbarczak@loyola.edu

Curriculum vitae

Cochran Headshot

Pamela Cochran

HU 039
pdcochran@loyola.edu

Maiju Lehmijoki Wetzel
Ph.D., University of Turku, 1999

DS 147 410-617-2218
mlwetzel@loyola.edu

Research interests: Health and religious traditions; religious dietary ethics; urban health issues; Christian mysticism and contemplative traditions

 Nyugen Headshot

The Rev. Bao Nguyen, S.J.

HU 316
410-617-7088
bqnguyen@loyola.edu

Servant Headshot  

Emily Servant
Ph.D., Cliff College (University of Manchester)

HU 039
erservant@loyola.edu

Recent Publications

Spahn Headshot

The Rev. Steven Spahn, S.J.

CO 101
410-617-2174
sspahn@loyola.edu

VanGaal Headshot

Theodora Van Gaal

HU 039
tvangaal@loyola.edu

Recent Publications
Curriculum vitae

Wagner Headshot

Richard Wagner

HU 039
rlwagner@loyola.edu
Curriculum vitae

Faculty Emeriti

Jim Buckley

James J. Buckley
Ph.D., Yale University, 1977

HU 042H 410-617-2657
jbuckley@loyola.edu

Research interests: Dogmatic Theology (Catholic and Evangelical); Philosophical Theology (religious and religionless)

Recent publications 
Curriculum vitae

In Memoriam

Christman

Angela Russell Christman
Ph.D., University of Virginia, 1995

In Memoriam, 1957-2020

Loyola Celebrates the Life of Angela Christman, Ph.D.

Research interests: Early Church; Patristics; Early Christian Biblical Interpretation

Recent Publications
Curriculum vitae

Administrative Assistant

Lisa M. Flaherty
Program Assistant
M.S., Loyola University Maryland, 1992

410-617-2010
lflaherty@loyola.edu

 











Arthur Sutherland
Faculty

Arthur Sutherland, Ph.D.

Meet Arthur Sutherland, Ph.D., associate professor of theology who also teaches courses in Messina and Loyola's Honors Program

Theology