Loyola University Maryland

Modern Languages & Literatures

Faculty & Staff

Learn about our faculty research projects and publications.

Arabic

Inas Hassan

Ph.D., M.A., Alexandria University, Egyptinas hassan
Maryland Hall 464
x5669
ihassan@loyola.edu

Chinese

Min Li

M.A. Shaanxi Normal University
Maryland Hall 463

mli@loyola.edu

Jinghua Wangling

Head, Asian Languages Section
Ph.D. Harvard UniversityDr. Jinghua Wangling
Maryland Hall 448
x2795
jwangling@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Pre-modern Chinese Poetry; Early Chinese Literature and History; Early and Medieval Chinese Art History

Yu Zhang Stearns 张禹

Ph.D., The University of Oregon
M.A., Shaanxi Normal UniversityYu Zhang
Maryland Hall 458
x2507
yzstearns@loyola.edu
Areas of Interest: Chinese Literature in the 19th & 20th; Christianity in Late Imperial China; Gender Theories

French

Heidi Brown

Head, French Section
M.A., The Ohio State Universityprofessor heidi brown
Ph.D., The Ohio State University
Maryland Hall 351I
x5607
Area of Study: 20th Century French & Francophone Literatures & Cultures, Trauma Studies

Maja Milicevic

M.A., The University of New Orleans
Maryland Hall 351K
x5787
mmilicevic@loyola.edu

Paul Oorts

M.A., Ph.D. Penn State UniversityDr. Paul Oorts
Maryland Hall 351E
x2324
phoorts@loyola.edu

Catherine Savell

M.A., Middlebury College
Maryland Hall 351C
x2927
csavell@loyola.edu

Andrea Thomas
Chair
M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., Columbia University
Maryland Hall 351H
x2612
asthomas@loyola.edu
Area of study: 19th-21st Century French and Francophone Literature

Dr. Andrea Thomas

German

Jennifer Holt

B.A., American University
M.A., University College of Cork, Cork, Ireland
Maryland Hall 463
x2513
jlholt@loyola.edu

Italian

Nicolino Applauso

M.A., Florida State UniversityProfessor Nicolino Applauso
Ph.D., University of Oregon
Maryland Hall 351K
x2785
napplauso@loyola.edu 
Areas of Study: Medieval and Modern History, Comic Poetry, Political Satire and Ethics, Italian-American History in Baltimore

Paul Oorts

M.A., Ph.D. Penn State UniversityDr. Paul Oorts
Maryland Hall 351E
x2324
phoorts@loyola.edu

Giuliana Risso Robberto

M.A. (Equivalent) in Education, Università di Torino
Maryland Hall 465
x2090
grissorobberto@loyola.edu

Spanish

Thomas Antorino
M.A., Ph.D., University of Virginia
B.A., Loyola University Maryland
Maryland Hall 467
x2286
tantorino@loyola.edu
Areas of Study: 19th- and 20th-Century Spanish literature, women novelists of Spain, and popular short narrative of the early 20th Century

Ramón Espejo-Saavedra

M.A., Ph.D. University of Pennsylvania
Maryland Hall 461
x2610
respejo@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Modern Spanish Peninsular Literature; History and Literature

Douglas Glynn

Ph.D., University of Maryland, College Park
B.A., M.A., UMBC
Maryland Hall 351H
x5516
dglynn@loyola.edu
Areas of Study: Irishness in Caribbean and Latin American Cultures

Ana Gómez-Pérez

M.A. University of Wisconsin (Madison)
Ph.D. University of Pennsylvania
Maryland Hall 351D
x2775
agp@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Nineteenth and Twentieth Century Spanish Peninsular Literature

Yolopattli Hernandez Torres

M.A., Ph.D.  University of Illinois at Urbana-ChampaignYolopattli Hernandez-Torres
Maryland Hall 456
x2463
yihernandez@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Colonial Spanish American Literatures and Cultures, Visual Culture in Spanish America

Emily Iekel

Ph.D. candidate, Binghamton University
M.A. Thomas More University College/KU Leuven, Antwerp, Belgium
Maryland Hall 351L
x2924
ekiekel@loyola.edu

Margarita Jacome
Associate Chair of Student Issues
Head, Spanish Section
Ph.D. The University of Iowa
M.A. Universidad Javeriana
Maryland Hall 351G
x2364
mjacome@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Latin American Literature and Cultures, emphasis on 20th and 21st Centuries

Tasha Lewis

Ph.D. University of California, Davis
M.A. California State University, Long Beach
Maryland Hall 460
x5603
tnlewis@loyola.edu
Areas of Study: Second Language Acquisition, Cognitive Linguistics, Speech and Gesture, Foreign Language Pedagogy

Stacey Mitchell

Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University
M.A., Pennsylvania State University
M.A., Middlebury College
Maryland Hall 457
x2520
smitchell3@loyola.edu
Areas of Study: Spanish literature and art in the Cultural Production of 19th- and 20th-Century Spain

Ursula Sayers-Ward

M.A. The Catholic University of America
Maryland Hall 351F
x2931
ucsayersward@loyola.edu

Sarah Tyler

M.A., University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Maryland Hall 351L
x2105
sgtyler@loyola.edu

Sarah Vitale

Spanish Core Coordinator
M.A. Louisiana State University A & M
Maryland Hall 464
x2974
sjvitale@loyola.edu

Thomas Ward

Director, Latin American and Latino StudiesDr. Thomas Ward
M.A., Ph.D. The University of Connecticut
Maryland Hall 462
x2370
tward@loyola.edu
Areas of study: Colonial and 19th-Century Latin American Literature

Emeriti Faculty

Ursula Beitter (German)
Professor Emerita
M.A., Ph.D., New York University
ubeitter@loyola.edu 
Areas of study: Nineteenth-century literature, German cinema, contemporary Germany, and foreign language pedagogy

Diane Chaffee-Sorace (Spanish)
Professor Emerita
M.A., Ph.D., Duke University
dchaffee@loyola.edu 
Areas of study: Golden age literature, Spanish poetry

Randall P. Donaldson (German)
Associate Professor Emeritus
M.A., Ph.D., The Johns Hopkins UniversityDr. Randy Donaldson
rdonaldson@loyola.edu 
Areas of study: German-American immigration and history, German-American literary relations, and aesthetics

Margaret Haggstrom (French)
Associate Professor Emerita
M.A., The University of Texas at Austin
Ph.D., The University of Minnesota
Areas of Study: Pedogogy, French Language and Culture

Leslie Zarker Morgan (Italian and French)
Professor Emerita
Leslie MorganM.A., Middlebury College
M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., Yale University
lmorgan@loyola.edu 
Areas of study: Medieval Italian language and literature, old French language and literature

Fall 2021 Office Hours forthcoming.

Fall Newsletter forthcoming.

Catherine Savell
Faculty

Catherine Savell

This member of the French faculty started a nonprofit to support children and young adults experiencing poverty in Haiti

Modern Languages & Literatures