Loyola University Maryland

Department of Mathematics and Statistics

Faculty & Staff

Program Assistant
Program Assistant Sandra Dargakis
Knott Hall 306
Phone: 410-617-2328
Email: sdargakis@loyola.edu
Department Chair
Duckworth

Ethan Duckworth
Associate Professor and Department Chair
Ph.D. University of Oregon
Knott Hall 301g
Phone: 410-617-2607
Email: educkworth@loyola.edu
Groups, Algebraic Groups, Representations, Algebra
Visit Ethan Duckworth's web page

Faculty
Auer Richard E. Auer
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Iowa State University
Knott Hall 310
Phone: 410-617-2523
Email: rea@loyola.edu
Applied Statistics
 Dr. Sudeshna Basu Sudeshna Basu
Assistant Teaching Professor
Ph.D. Indian Statistical Institute
Knott Hall 314
Email: sbasu1@loyola.edu
Geometry of Banach spaces and Operator Theory
Prince

Prince Chidyagwai
Associate Professor
Ph.D. Rice University
Knott Hall 301d
Phone: 410-617-2710
Email: pchidyagwai@loyola.edu
Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing
Visit Prince Chidyagwai's web page

Clark

Timothy B. P. Clark
Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of Albany, SUNY
Knott Hall 316b
Phone: 410-617-5088
Email: tbclark@loyola.edu
Commutative Algebra, Algebraic Combinatorics
Visit Tim Clark's web page

Neeta Deshpande

Neeta Deshpande
Assistant Teaching Professor
M.S. Devi Ahilya University, Indore India
Knott Hall 301f
Phone: 410-617-2601
Phone: 410-617-2522
Email: ndeshpande@loyola.edu
Statistics

Kevin Drummey 

Kevin W. Drummey
Assistant Teaching Professor
Ph.D. University of Maryland Baltimore County
Knott Hall 301e
Phone: 410-617-5054
Email: kwdrummey@loyola.edu
Statistics, Bayesian Statistics, Mathematics Education

Knapp Michael Knapp
Professor
Ph.D. University of Michigan
Knott Hall 312
Phone: 410-617-2382
Email: mpknapp@loyola.edu
Number Theory
Visit Michael Knapp's web page
Bu Hyoung Lee 

Bu Hyoung Lee
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Temple University
Knott Hall 316d
Phone: 410-617-2522
Email: blee4@loyola.edu
Statistics: Time Series Analysis

Oberbroeckling Lisa Oberbroeckling
Associate Vice President for Undergraduate Academic Affairs
Ph.D. University of Oregon
Jenkins Hall 120B
Phone: 410-617-2516
Email: loberbroeckling@loyola.edu
Functional Analysis, Operator Theory, Banach Algebras, Generalized Inverses
Visit Lisa Oberbroeckling's web page
Tao

Jiyuan Tao
Professor
Ph.D. University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Knott Hall 301c
Phone: 410-617-5419
Email: jtao@loyola.edu
Applied Analysis, Optimization

Yavantikar

Amit Yavantikar
Assistant Teaching Professor
M.S. Oklahoma State University
Knott Hall 316c
Phone: 410-617-2724
Email: ayavantikar@loyola.edu
Differential Equations, Financial Mathematics

Mr. Anson Xuan

Anson Xuan
Assistant Teaching Professor
M.A. Arizona State University
M.S. Sun Yat-Sen University
Knott Hall 308
Phone: 410-617-5078
Email: axuan@loyola.edu
Probability, Statistics

Professors Emeritus
John C. Hennessey
Professor, Emeritus
Ph.D. University of Maryland
Email: jch@loyola.edu
Mathematical Modeling, Complex Variables
 Morrell Christopher H. Morrell
Professor, Emeritus
Ph.D. University of Wisconsin
Email: chm@loyola.edu
Applied Statistics
View Christopher Morrell's web page
William D. Reddy
Professor, Emeritus
Ph.D. St. Louis University
breddy1@msn.com
Numerical Analysis
Sarkar Dipa Sarkar-Dey
Professor, Emeritus
Ph.D. Johns Hopkins University
Email: dsarkardey@loyola.edu
Linear Algebra
Anne L. Young
Professor, Emeritus
Ph.D. Michigan State University
Email: ayoung@loyola.edu
Number Theory, Algebra, Cryptography
Visit Anne Young's web page

Affiliate Faculty fall 2022

Mr. Alexander Bertram
M.S. Johns Hopkins University
B.S. University of Maryland, College Park
Knott Hall 301a
Email: abertram@loyola.edu

Mr. Richard Brown
M.S. Johns Hopkins University
Knott Hall 301a
Email: rbrown@loyola.edu

Mr. Anthony Calise
M.S. Loyola Marymount University
B.S. Towson University
Knott Hall 301a
Email: acalise@loyola.edu

Mr. Glenn Georgieff
M.S. Towson University
B.S. Towson University
Knott Hall 301a
Email: ggeorgieff@loyola.edu

Dr. Ilya Kerzhner
Ph.D. & M.S. Ural State University, Russia
Knott Hall 301a
Email: ikerzhner@loyola.edu

Mr. Brandon Myers
M.S. Towson University (Mathematics Education)
B.S. Grand Canyon University (Mathematics for Secondary Education)
Knott Hall 301a
Email: bmmyers@loyola.edu

Ms. Leanne Voos
M.S. Towson University
B.S. Dayton University
Knott Hall 301a
Email: lvoos@loyola.edu

Ms. Stacy Wagaman
M.Ed. Loyola University
Knott Hall 301a
Email: semacnelly@loyola.edu








Mazzuca
Alumni

Lisa Mazzuca

This 1991 graduate leads NASA's search and rescue mission

Mathematics