Loyola University Maryland

Department of English

Student Achievements


Rodlyn-Mae Banting '19 is serving as a Program Assistant for the Danish Institute for Study Abroad's CGH Department in Copenhagen, Denmark. In this role, she will be working with over 300 students and 40 professors to ensure that all of their needs are met and that the Communications, Computer Science, Gender Studies, and Human Rights programs are running as smoothly as possible. Rodlyn was a student at DIS in 2017 when she studied abroad in Copenhagen, and she is very excited to be able to return and give back to such an amazing organization in a professional role.

Justin Montague '19 (English Minor) received a Fulbright Scholarship in spring 2019 to conduct Public Health Research in Chile.

Ju'waun A. Morgan '19 (English Major/Sociology Minor) is currently employed full-time in the apprenticeship program with CBS local station WJZ-TV. The program is for six months training in the front and back end of broadcasting.  He is working towards permanent employment as a news writer. https://baltimore.cbslocal.com/2019/09/16/baltimore-homecoming-crab-tank-local-businesses/

Betsy Tang '19 (English Minor) will be attending the Uniform Services School of Medicine.  She believes her supplemental essay about how her minor will contribute to her success as a doctor was a valuable part of her application.

Amanda Waggoner '19 is currently serving with AmeriCorps VISTA in Baltimore. As part of her service, she will be activating the library at the Baltimore Design School (BDS) through creative programming and community outreach, and working within the Center for Creative Citizenship at the Maryland Institute College of Art (MICA) to build a mentorship program that will foster intentional and lasting connections between BDS and MICA student communities.

Nora Benedict Frye '10 began in fall 2019 as an Assistant Professor of Spanish and Digital Humanities at University of Georgia. Her book manuscript, Borges and the Literary Marketplace: How Editorial Practices Shaped Cosmopolitan Reading Habits was just awarded a contract with Yale University Press.

Emily Rosen Blumenauer'07 was just promoted to chair of the English Department at Owings Mills High School (2019)


Clara Love '18 presented a paper titled "Recovering Women's Literary History: The Aperio Project and the Woman's Literary Club of Baltimore" at the Bucknell University Digital Scholarship Conference on October 6, 2018.

Katie Henry '14 was admitted to the Ph.D. Program in English Literature at SUNY Buffalo with a full Presidential Fellowship (2018).

Carrell English Medal Winner

Awarded to Jennifer Garster. The Carrell Medal is awarded to the English major with the highest G.P.A. in the major courses.


Congratulations to Hunter Flynn '18, who won a Fulbright research award to travel to Japan during the 2018-2019 academic year and study the "reception of Faulkner in Japan."   https://www.loyola.edu/news/2018/0427-fulbright-winners-2018

Laura McCormack '17 has been named Loyola Blakefield's new director of campus ministry (December 2019).

Carrell English Medal Winner

Awarded to Hunter Flynn.   The Carrell Medal is awarded to the English major with the highest G.P.A. in the major courses.

Honors Theses:

  • Hunter Flynn, "Power Lines: The York Road in Mason & Dixon.Director: Nicholas Miller
  • Matthew Rossi, "Coleridge's Literary Appropriations of Shakespeare's The Winter's Tale.Director: Robert Miola

EN101 Paper Prizes:

  • Abigail McLaughlin, "Every Wave is Different from the Last"
  • Jenny Meigs, "Holly Golightly: A Housecat and a Tiger"

EN200-Level Paper Prizes:

  • Patrick Grasso, "Much Ado About Nothing: Loyalty, Lies, and Love in Messina"
  • Julia Kaldany, "Duality of Disability"

EN300-Level Paper Prizes:

  • Anna Rose Waniak, "Illustrating the Author-Narrator: Artistic Depictions of Chaucer as Poet and Pilgrim"
  • Jen Garster, "Narratives on Sanitary Reform"

Fall 2017 Booking Awards: Andrew Lucibella, Chaucer (Dr. Forni); Megan Hultberg, Milton (Dr. Lobo), Kelsey Endo, Jane Austen (Dr. Abromaitis), Andrew Hayden, Victorian Literature (Dr. McGlamery), Corey Thomas, American Literature to the First World War (Dr. Lukacs), Miranda Nolan, American Literature-First Generation Writing (Dr. Park), Juliana Mae Neves, Film Animation (Dr. Miller)

Spring 2018 Booking Awards: Andrew Hayden, English Literature before 1800 (Dr. Scheye), Monica Malouf, Shakespeare 1 (Dr. Miola), Kassandra Mendez, Women in 18th Century Fiction (Dr. Abromaitis), Meredith Wardell, Early Modern Disability Literature (Dr. Lobo), Monica Malouf, Modern British & American Poetry (Dr. Girard), Sarah Lewis, Modern Drama (Dr. Crockett), Marina Fazio, 21st Century Literature & Time (Dr. Ellis), Bailey Ray, Literature of the U.S./Mexico Border (Dr. Park)

We graduated 16 seniors who are members of Sigma Tau Delta, the English Honor Society, and inducted 12 new members.  Total membership this year was 26 members.  Moderator: Dr. Girard

Anna DeBlasio

Anna DeBlasio

An actor and singer, Anna says she cultivated her career in the arts through grants from Loyola

English, Fine Arts