Loyola University Maryland

Department of English

Faculty & Staff

Note:  All faculty members teach EN 101 (The Art of Reading) and EN 200-level courses (second Core) in addition to upper-division courses in their fields of expertise. 

 kathleen-forni

Kathleen Forni

Chair of Department of English
Professor

Ph.D., University of Southern California
kforni@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Chaucer, Middle English literature, medievalism, popular culture

 Vicki Barnett-Woods

Victoria Barnett-Woods

Lecturer-Visiting Affiliate Assistant Professor
Ph.D., The George Washington University
vabarnett-woods@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Eighteenth-century transatlantic literature, British Caribbean, Romantic Literature, Jane Austen, the rise of the novel 

 

 Brett H. Butler

Lecturer-Visiting Affiliate Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Morgan State University
bhbutler@loyola.edu
Areas of Interest: 20th century American literature, popular culture, comic books / graphic novels, men and masculinity studies, technical / professional writing 

Dr. Ellis

Juniper Ellis

Professor
Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
jellis@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Postcolonial literature, Pacific Rim literature

Dr. Girard

Melissa Girard

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois
magirard@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Modern poetry and poetics, 20th and 21st century American literature, gender studies, history of literary criticism

Dr. Guttman

Sondra Guttman

Lecturer-Visiting Affiliate Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Rutgers University
sfguttman@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: American literature, working class literature, African American literature

Dr. G. Lobo

Giuseppina Iacono Lobo

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., English, The Pennsylvania State University
gaiaconolobo@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Milton; 17th-century poetry and prose; literature and religious nonconformity; literature and revolution

Dr. McGlamery

Gayla McGlamery

Associate Professor
Co-Director of the Loyola Honors Program
Ph.D., Emory University
gmcglamery@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Victorian literature and culture, the novel, film adaptation

 Prof. Miller

Nicholas Andrew Miller

Associate Professor; Director, Film Studies
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
nmiller@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Modernism, Irish literature, early cinema, film animation

Robert S. Miola

Gerard Manley Hopkins Professor; Lecturer in Classics
Ph.D., University of Rochester
rmiola@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Shakespeare, Renaissance drama and poetry, classical backgrounds of English literature, Catholic Renaissance writers

 

Mark Osteen

Professor
Ph.D., Emory University
mosteen@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Modern and contemporary literature, film studies, disability studies

 Stephen Park

Stephen Park

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Southern California
smpark@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: 20th-Century American Literature, Multiethnic U.S. Literature

 tom_scheye_photo_170  

Thomas Scheye

Loyola Distinguished Service Professor
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
scheye@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Renaissance literature, Shakespeare, Milton

 

 FACULTY EMERITUS

 Dr. Abromaitis

Carol Nevin Abromaitis

Professor Emerita
Ph.D., University of Maryland
cabromaitis@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: Restoration and 18th-century English literature, fantasy literature
 Dr. Crockett

Bryan Crockett

Associate Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Iowa
bcrockett@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: English Renaissance literature and culture, modern drama

 Dr. Cole

Jean Lee Cole

Professor and Director of the minor in American Studies
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
jlcole@loyola.edu
Areas of interest: American literature, American Studies, multiethnic American literature, gender studies, history of the book, visual cultural studies

David Dougherty

David C. Dougherty

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Miami University (Ohio)
ddougherty@loyola.edu
Areas of interest:  Detective and crime literature, filming Shakespeare's plays, Vietnam War fiction and films, sports and literature

 

 ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT

 
 lori_neikirk_photo1

Lori Neikirk

Program Assistant 
English and Political Science
HU-242 A
410-617-2418
llneikirk@loyola.edu

 

 



















Nora Benedict
Alumni

Nora Benedict

Nora credits her Loyola education with affording her critical thinking skills and relationships with faculty, both of which inspired a career in academia

English, Spanish