Loyola University Maryland

Department of Theology

Faculty

Theology Banner

Chair

Claire Mathews

Mathews McGinnis, Claire R.
Ph.D., Yale University, 1994

HU 042O 410-617-2356
cmathews@loyola.edu

Research interests: Prophets (esp. Isaiah); Exodus; Biblical Narrative; Theological Interpretation

Recent publications 
Curriculum vitae

Professors

 Bauerschmidt Bauerschmidt, Frederick C.
Ph.D., Duke University, 1996

HU 042G 410-617-2042
fbauerschmidt@loyola.edu

Research interests: Medieval and Contemporary Theology; Thomas Aquinas

Recent Publications 
Curriculum vitae
Personal website

Jim Buckley

Buckley, James J.
Ph.D., Yale University, 1977

HU 042H 410-617-2657
jbuckley@loyola.edu

Research interests: Dogmatic Theology (Catholic and Evangelical); Philosophical Theology (religious and religionless)

Recent publications 
Curriculum vitae

Christman

Christman, Angela Russell
Ph.D., University of Virginia, 1995

HU 042K 410-617-2359
achristman@loyola.edu

Research interests: Early Church; Patristics; Early Christian Biblical Interpretation

Recent Publications
Curriculum vitae

Conley

Conley, S.J., Rev. John J.
Henry J. Knott Professor of Theology and Philosophy
Ph.D., Université Catholique de Louvain, 1988

HU 042M 410-617-2665
jconley1@loyola.edu

Research interests: Moral Theology; Philosophy and Theology; French Philosophy

Recent publications 
Curriculum vitae

Fowl

Fowl, Stephen E.

Ph.D., University of Sheffield, 1987

HU 042F 410-617-2878
sfowl@loyola.edu

Research interests: New Testament (esp. Pauline Studies); Hermeneutics; Theological Interpretation of Scripture

Recent publications 
Curriculum vitae

Rossi

Rossi, S.J., Rev. Joseph S.
Ph.D., Catholic University of America, 1989

HU 042D 410-617-2371
jsrossi@loyola.edu

Research interests: American Catholic Life and Thought; Catholic NGOs at the United Nations; Theology and Cinema (American and International)

Recent publications
Curriculum vitae

Associate Professors

Robert Pomplun

Pomplun, R. Trent
Ph.D., University of Virginia, 2002

HU 042E 410-617-2705
rpomplun@loyola.edu

Research interests:Early Modern Theology; Scholasticism; Missions History

Recent publications
Curriculum vitae

Arthur Sutherland

Sutherland, Arthur M.
Ph.D., Princeton Theological Seminary, 2000

HU 042N 410-617-2217
asutherland@loyola.edu

Research interests:Systematic Theology; History of Doctrine; Theologies of Hospitality, Patience, and Generosity; African American Religious Thought; Christianity and its Critics; Theology and Autobiography

Recent publications

Assistant Professors

Daniel Castillo

Castillo, Daniel
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame 2014

HU 042I 410-617-2587
dpcastillo@loyola.edu

Research interests:Liberation Theology; Ecotheology/Environmental Ethics; Latino/a Theology;Theology and Science

Recent Publications
Curriculum vitae

eklund-rebekah

Eklund, Rebekah
Th.D.,Duke University, 2012

HU 042J 410-617-5003
raeklund@loyola.edu

Research interests:New Testament (esp. Gospels); the Bible and Christian Ethics; Theological Interpretation of Scripture

Recent publications
Curriculum vitae

Kiess

Kiess, John
Ph.D., Duke University, 2011

HU 042L 410-617-2811
jrkiess@loyola.edu

Research interests:Moral Theology; Political Theology; Ethics of Armed Conflict and Peacebuilding

Recent publications

Affilitate Faculty

Mr. Barczak, Christopher

HU 039
cmbarczak@loyola.edu

Dr. Brotherton, Joshua

HU 039
jbrotherton@loyola.edu

Dr. Cochran, Pamela

HU 039
pdcochran@loyola.edu

Mr. Higgins, Michael

HU 039
mjhiggins@loyola.edu

Maiju Lehmijoki-Gardner, Maiju
Ph.D., University of Turku, 1999

DS 147 410-617-2218
mlehmijokigardn@loyola.edu

Research interests:Health and religious traditions; religious dietary ethics; urban health issues; Christian mysticism and contemplative traditions

Mr. Newell, Matthew

HU 039
mjnewell@loyola.edu

Ms. Parker, Heather

HU 039
hdparker@loyola.edu

Sanks, S.J., Rev. T. Howland

HU 039
thsanks@loyola.edu

Ms. Van Gaal, Theodora

HU 039
tvangaal@loyola.edu

Dr. Wagner, Richard

HU 039
rlwagner@loyola.edu

Administration

Daniel McClain McClain, Rev. Daniel
Director of Program Operations of the Master of Theological Studies
Ph.D., The Catholic University of America, 2016

HU 042P 410-617-5649
dwmcclain@loyola.edu

Research interests:Theological Aesthetics; Political Theology; Models of Theological Formation; Franciscan Theology; Bonaventure

Curriculum vitae
Academic.edu

  Bess Garrett
Administrative Assistant
MTS, Loyola University Maryland, 2017

HU 042C
410-617-2219
esgarrett@loyola.edu

Visiting Assistant Professors

Joshua Brown

Brown, Joshua R.
Ph.D., University of Dayton, 2016

HU042B 410-617-5138
jrbrown@loyola.edu

Research interests:Comparative Theology; Systematic Theology; pre-Qin and Han Chinese philosophies; Hans Urs von Balthasar; Thomas Aquinas; Christology

Recent Publications
Curriculum vitae
Academia.edu

Leslie Difransico

DiFransico, Lesley R.
Ph.D., The Catholic University of America, 2014

HU 042B 410-617-5335
lrdifransico@loyola.edu

Research interests:Hebrew Bible/Old Testament; Biblical Metaphor; Biblical Concepts of Sin and Redemption

Recent Publications
Curriculum Vitae
Academia.edu

Matthew Moser Moser, Matthew A.
Ph.D., Baylor University, 2013

HU 042A 410-617-2624
mamoser@loyola.edu

Research interests:Contemplation and epistemology; Dante; Hans Urs von Balthasar;ressourcement

Recent publications
Curriculum vitae
Personal website